Morgen! (Tomorrow)

“Tomorrow, Tomorrow, I love ya, Tomorrow, you’re only a day away…” – from Annie

Yesterday, the girls and I began making a “creative” space for them in a small upstairs room.  In this creative space, they have their markers, their stencils, their colored pencils, crayons, endless rolls of paper, coloring books, weaving looms, bracelet looms, AND an old CD player!  I raced to the basement in search of a CD for them and found a childhood memory of mine, ANNIE.  ANNIE and I go waaaaaaaaay back.  It was one of my first LP’s as a kid.  I had the ANNIE locket.  I had an ANNIE doll.  I had the ANNIE book.  I remember memorizing “Tomorrow” and standing in front of my bedroom mirror singing along with my record time and time again.  After getting them comfortable in their space, I left the girls and walked downstairs.  An hour or so later, I hear two sweet voices singing “The sun’ll come out, tomorrow.”  A warm smile came over my face.  I’m beginning to see the full circle of life!

Creative spaces, creative processes…I think about knitting and the creative outlet it is for me.  One of my most favorite parts of the knitting process is choosing the yarn.  I could spend hours in a yarn shop looking at the colors, the textures, touching the soft strands.  I imagine transforming a simple, plain hank of yarn into something warm and cozy and I’m taken to my happy place!  Here are some of my go-to fibers:

  • Berroco Ultra Alpaca:  This is 50% wool, 50% alpaca.  I’ve used this yarn for so many projects and found it to be so versatile.  It’s nice for cowls, hats, and even sweaters.  It feels great in your hands and wonderful against your skin.  It holds shape nicely and has a subtle soft texture.  It’s great for felting projects and above all, you won’t burn a hole in your pocket book!  Your LYS will likely sell a hank of this (roughly 200 yds) for $12.  These leg warmers are currently being knit with Ultra Alpaca.FullSizeRender (1) resized
  • Malabrigo Merino Worsted:  LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!  This is fabulous!  Subtle color and texture variations makes for a handsome looking finished product.  Great color choices and again, affordable.  One hank will make a nice hat – try it!  This hat was knit using Malabrigo Merino Worsted in the Malambo color.  The majority of the line is NOT multi-colored like shown below.

IMG_2763 resized

  • Berroco Vintage:  This is a good pick if you want machine washable.  For a wool blend yarn, it’s still quite soft; soft enough to use for kids hats, scarves, mittens.  Again, price is usually right.  This hat for my nephew was knit using Vintage.FullSizeRender resized

I’m going to leave you with a performance of one of my most favorite pieces of music.  Morgen! is the last in a set of four songs that Richard Strauss composed in 1894.  This tugs on my heart strings, makes my eyes well up.  For a few short minutes, I can be still and feel the breath in my body, the pulse in my veins. Oh, the gift of creating something beautiful!

Tomorrow! (poetic translation)
Tomorrow again will shine the sun
And on my sunlit path of earth
Unite us again, as it has done,
And give our bliss another birth…
The spacious beach under wave-blue skies
We’ll reach by descending soft and slow,
And mutely gaze in each other’s eyes,
As over us rapture’s great hush will flow.

One thought on “Morgen! (Tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

