It’s A Story Of A Man Named Brady…

In light of yesterday’s game, I thought it only appropriate to somehow sneak The Super Bowl into my post.  My mind immediately moved to Tom Brady and his winning Patriots Team.  Despite our allegiance to “the Green & Gold”,  the New England blood that literally fills this house was quite tickled to see another Patriots win.  And as I thought about Tom Brady, I naturally began singing the theme song to the Brady Bunch.  And of course, as I pondered that all-to-familiar syndicated sitcom of my childhood, while the warm sun beamed through the windows, I remembered the great song, “Sunshine Day” and thought to myself, “I think I’ll go for a walk outside, now, the winter sun’s calling my name” Something fun about bundling up on a beautiful winter day in a great hat and warm mittens…and that’s when I realized it all comes back to knitting 🙂

So, the mittens are finished and can’t wait to make another pair for myself.  My current addiction; however, is figuring out how to write this pattern.  I’ve completed the written instructions, but thought I should try my hand at creating a chart for those who are more visual knitters, and frankly, to clean up the clutter of all the written instructions.  If you’ve never knit with a chart, don’t be afraid.  Here’s some very basic information about reading a chart that will hopefully give you some confidence to take the polar plunge and jump right into it!

Read from bottom to top.  Your first stitch will be in the bottom right hand corner of the chart.

Know the RS (right side) from the WS (wrong side) of your work.  How you read your chart will depend on whether you ever work on the WS.  If you are knitting in the round, you are only working on the RS.  If you are knitting on straight needles, you will be working on both the WS and the RS.  It’s also good to remember that when working on the RS all knit stitches look like small v’s and all purl stitches give a horizontal line look.  But, if you turn your work over to the WS, these stitches are reversed!  What was knit on the RS now looks like a purl on the WS and what was purled on the RS now looks like a knit stitch on the WS.  Confused yet?  Don’t give up…

Does your chart display ALL rows numbered on the right side?  If every row is numbered on the right side it is showing all rows, but only from a RS perspective.  This only happens when knitting in the round.  You read this pattern from bottom to top and begin every row on the right side and read to the left. You might find this type of chart when knitting cable mittens in the round.  HOWEVER, if you need to do a gauge swatch for this chart, you will be knitting back and forth on straight needles.  In which case, you then need to read odd rows right to left, like usual.  Even rows will be read left to right, but you will need to reverse your stitch types (ie. knits become purls and purls become knits).  Again, this is because your chart is showing what the RS should look like, and when you knit on the WS (even rows) you need to use the stitch that will give you the outcome on the other side.  If yo

Does your chart display JUST ODD numbers on the right side?  If your chart is numbered on the right side only, and each row is an odd number, than your chart is again only showing the RS of the pattern. You read this pattern from bottom to top and also begin every row on the right side and read right to left. The author of the pattern will then give a general instruction for all the WS rows if you are knitting back and forth on straight needles.  Or it may be a general instruction for all even rows if you are knitting in the round.

Does your chart display odd numbers on the right side and even numbers on the left side? Again, this type of chart is showing ALL rows, but it’s also indicating every WS row too.  You begin in the lower right hand corner and read across to your left.  Then for row two, you begin on the left and read to the right.   Row three begins again on the right.  Row four left to right, etc.  You may find this type of chart when knitting on straight needles for a lace or cable pattern because you are actually working on both the RS and the WS.  This chart is less likely, as it clutters the overall image of the pattern.

This is definitely a very abridged version of the how-to for chart reading, but thought it might be a good overview and perhaps kick-start some of you into chart reading!

As I look at the temperature, it’s -2 degrees with the windchill.  Don’t think I’ll be going out to enjoy the sunshine.  Think I’ll stay inside all day… right here, sipping my warm coffee in my warm mittens.mitten blog 2 resized

2 thoughts on “It’s A Story Of A Man Named Brady…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Have been knitting for sixty three years. Your ‘tutorial’ is one of the best I have ever read! Excellent! You are not only an amazing knitter, you also have the gift of encouragement! Lovely!

    Like

    • You’re too kind! I thought, gosh, super easy thing to talk about. Then I started writing and realized there’s a lot that goes into reading a chart. And I didn’t even cover colored charts 😉 Thanks for the sweet words and for YOUR encouragement. When I started this blog, I thought to myself, I want to empower knitters. It can be quite intimidating and so, to hear your thoughts immediately made me smile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

