This Girl Is On Fire…

Girl On Fire by Alicia Keys

Berroco project finished, en route to RI, and the first of two skirts has been cast on.  I can tell you right now, I may have gotten a bit ahead of myself.  Simply reading this pattern brings me back to the years of preparing a recital.  The overwhelming task of analyzing each piece, translating the text, spending countless hours collaborating with a pianist…and then cementing all of that to memory.  Somewhat exciting at the beginning, but then in the midst of it all, seemingly exhausting.  That’s how I already anticipate this skirt will be.  I’m excited to begin a new project and work with a new yarn, but I am certain sweat and tears will be shed.  Perhaps it’s the way in which the pattern is written that scares me?  My brain likes:

  • Bullet points
  • Columns
  • Neat rows
  • Organized thought

I heavily dislike patterns written in paragraph form. Same way with recipes; list the ingredients and number the instructions! But every brain is wired differently and apparently this designer’s brain likes paragraphs.  I may be rewriting this one 😉 

Yes, I’m overwhelmed but, “I think I can, I think I can”.  And you can too!  Grab that pattern that scares the begeezers out of you and start.  No day but today.  Happy knitting!

One thought on “This Girl Is On Fire…

Leave a Reply

