Link

I’m Back…

“I’m back in the saddle again”Aerosmith (thanks to Jenny for the kick in the kiester)

Talk about a hiatus! Vacation wiped me out; out of routine, out of cooking, out of doing laundry, out of knitting. Two incredibly fabulous weeks turned me upside down, threw me on my back and I’m now just beginning to get up. No choice, really.  With school starting this week, I feel as if I’ve been thrown into the fiery furnaces (humid heat, though) and left to rescue the entire family. We’re on our third day of school and already it’s beginning to feel like a well-oiled machine; we’re running fairly smoothly and somewhat efficiently – but, dang, it’s an adjustment!

The cute leg warmers remain unfinished. Ha! Who was I kidding thinking I would complete them on a 72 hour round trip road trip? Not sure I’m a whole lot further than before we left. Yup, one of those  projects. In the meantime; however, I have crocheted an adorable baby bonnet and diaper cover setprecious baby mary jane’s, and I’ve helped Kaitlin (our babysitter) tear out a hat and get HER “back in the saddle again”.

And I’ve mentioned before, I’m pretty much a tear-out-the-needles and just pull kind of girl. When it comes to mistakes or needing to rework something, I pull. Yes, scary, but after the first few times it does become better. In this circumstance, it was a dropped stitch in a spiraling pattern. One missed stitch and the nice spiraling pattern is no more.  So, this wasn’t the case of simply picking up a dropped stitch, it was getting back to the dropped stitch, picking it up AND correcting the pattern (which was now one stitch off all around). Here’s how I approached it:

  1. Find the actual spot in your knitting at which you dropped the stitch.
  2. Pull out needles and pull yarn back to this spot where the stitch was dropped.
  3. Pick up the dropped stitch (making sure to place it on your needles in the appropriate knit or purl direction).
  4. Make certain pattern was correct prior to the dropped stitch and then continue in pattern, making sure not drop stitches along the way.

One “purl” of wisdom: pay attention to your stitches and the patterns that develop. In Kaitlin’s instance the reocurring k2tog was always joining the first stitch of the moving knit spiral with the previous stitch.  AND the first knit stitch of the k4 series was always into a YO stitch. If you can identify patterns like this that are always repeating, it’s pretty easy to detect a problem early on if one unfortunately happens. Simply put, pay attention to what you’re doing, right?

So, we’re back in the saddle and this is how we’re riding today:

  Hi-Yo, Silver. Away! And we’re off…

One thought on “I’m Back…

Leave a Reply

