I’m So Excited, And I Just Can’t Hide It…

“I’m about to lose control and I think I like it!” – The Pointer Sisters

Yes, I’m geeking out. This post is completely knitter geekiness and there’s no shame here. BEWARE: if you’re a knitter this just might blow your socks off too!

Yesterday, Emily O’Neil from Berroco Yarn blogged something that will forever change mittens. She calls it an afterthought thumb. Those of you whom have never tackled mittens because of the dreaded gusset  (the increase portion leading to the thumb)…well, TACKLE ON! Visit Emily’s post and you will fear no more. The gist of this method is:

  • Knit the mitten to the point of the thumb, at which point you’ll knit HALF the thumb stitches onto scrap yarn.
  • Continue knitting with the working yarn so that you basically create a thumb-less mitten worked from bottom to top. (imagine a tiny toddler mitten)
  • Once mitten body is completed, then you go back to where the scrap yarn is knit, cut the yarn and as you unravel those stitches, you’ll slip the stitches onto two working needles
  • Knit yourself a thumb and VOILA!  You’ve got an easy peasy mitten!

Might sound confusing, or complicated.  Watch the video and see how extremely wonderful this is. Thank you Emily O’Neil! Love. Love. Love.

And that’s how I indulge my inner diva today. How’ about you?

2 thoughts on “I’m So Excited, And I Just Can’t Hide It…

  1. Wow, that is pretty amazing!! Love it. I’ve knit a few pairs before with gussets and while it wasn’t awful, it wasn’t as neat looking at this. I’m definitely favoriting this technique for when I’m making a new pair!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

