Oh The Weather Outside Is Frightful…

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! – Michael Bublé

I have to admit, the melting snow and warm sun lately has had me thinking of anything but knitting winter-wear. I’ve been planning my summer knit tank and perhaps a skirt, all while endlessly trying to forget about the winter project I have yet to finish for my mom. I’m thinking she’ll have a great shrug NEXT winter! Nothing in my being has wanted to touch anything warm. Today, however, with 4+ inches of snow, and what will hopefully be our last school snow day, I thought I’d welcome March with a new hat pattern! Moxie has arrived. Soon to find its way to Ravelry

  

This pattern began with my husband in mind; being he rarely finds himself the recipient of any of my knitting adventures. I wanted to gift him with a hat to pair with his new Bean jacket, and be certain he could finally enjoy the goodness of Malabrigo Worsted. I’m ecstatic with how the pattern compliments the yarn colors. I hoped for a “fair aisle inspired” look without all the color work. I chose a slip stitch cable pattern which ended up mixing the color order just perfectly while still highlighting contrasting colors. I’m pretty pleased.

The end of January into February brought enormous amounts of snow, strep throat, other illnesses, and now more snow. I’m hoping the illnesses are over, the snow will melt and tulips will once again adorn my table while the warmth of the sun shines it’s rays through the window panes. Bring on spring!

