Chase My Blues Away…

“Clock strikes upon the hour and the sun begins to fade. Still enough time to figure out how to chase my blues away…“- I Wanna Dance With Somebody, Whitney Houston

I have been singing the knitting blues, yessuh. No inspiration. No self motivation. Lacking all desire to create. Perhaps the nice weather? Perhaps a spring slump. For certain, I just couldn’t knit. Until today…

On a day that screams green, I’m screaming “blue”. Not the knitting blues, ya’ll, the hat Blue. My friend Lexie contacted me said Kristin, for whom “Blue” was designed, had accidentally found her hat tumbled up in the drier! Any guess what “blue” looks like now? And so, I was asked if I might be able to replace “blue” with another. Of course! A silly question, really. 

Blue #2 won’t be an exact copy. I just so happened to have a hank of Malabrigo Worsted in Continental, a gorgeous yarn still in the blue family. For once in a long while, I wanted to knit immediately. No time to venture to Ewetopia and search for a different color. This “blue” screams personality, and I can’t wait for it to find Kristin.

Kristin isn’t the only one who has faced laundering nightmares. And it brings up an important point: read labels! I love the idea of superwash fibers, for a mother’s ease when laundering, but they always seem to disappoint. I have yet to find a superwash fiber that knits up with great definition, feels good on the skin, AND doesn’t loose its integrity by the end of the project. Anyone have a superwash they love? In theory, it’s wonderful; in practice, I steer clear. Maybe I should reconsider? Perhaps then I won’t have as many people calling me with their laundering nightmares…

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Time for reubens and shamrock shakes. This Irish family screams green, orange and white.

Leave a Reply

